To the Knesset Web Site in English To the Knesset Website in Hebrew To the Knesset Website in Arabic
    The Knesset History

David Ben Gurion speaking at the festive meeting of the Provisional State Council, in honor of President Chaim Weizmann, 30.9.1948.

The old Knesset building on King George Street in Jerusalem

MKs from the Opposition in the Knesset plenum, and the visitors' gallery, May 1950

The Pardess Hannah transition camp: Preparing the ground for the construction of a hut, December 1950.

Factional and Government Make-Up of the First Knesset

Was elected as the Constituent Assembly on 25 January, 1949.
The Constituent Assembly held its first meeting on 14 February 1949,
and two days later changed its name to "Knesset."
Speaker: Joseph Sprintzak;
Deputy Speakers: Joseph Burg, Nahum Nir;
Secretary General: Moshe Rosetti.

Name of List Votes in Percentage Number of Seats Number of Seats Before Next Elections
Mapai 35.7 46 46
Mapam 14.7 19 20
United Religious Front 12.2 16 16
Herut Movement 11.5 14 12
General Zionists 5.2 7 7
Progressive Party 4.1 5 5
Sephardim and Oriental Communities 3.5 4 4
Maki 3.5 4 3
Democratic List of Nazareth 1 1.7 2 2
Fighters List 1.2 1 1
WIZO 1.2 1 1
Yemenite Association 1.0 1 1
Single MK - Ari Jabotinsky 2 - 0 1
Single MK - Hillel Kook 2 - 0 1
1 Arab minority list associated with Mapai
2 Broke off from the Herut Movement but were not recognized as parliamentary groups by the House Committee

The first government was formed by David Ben Gurion, on 8 March, 1949.
The coalition members were: Mapai, the United Religious Front, the Progressive Party, the Sephardim and Oriental Communities and the Arab minority list. The number of ministers when the government was formed - 13. The Prime Minister resigned on 15 October, 1950, against the background of the demands of the United Religious Front regarding the issue of education in the new immigrant camps and the religious education system, as well as the demand of the Prime Minister that the Supply and Rationing Ministry be cancelled and a businessman appointed as Minister for Trade and Industry.

The second government was formed by David Ben Gurion, on 1 November, 1950.
The coalition members were the same as the first government. The number of ministers when the government was formed - 13. The Government resigned on 14 February, 1951, against the background of the rejection by the Knesset of the proposals made by the Minister of Education and Culture, regarding the registration of children in schools.

State Symbol - Menora and Olive Branches
Copyright 2004, The State of Israel. All Rights Reserved.
We welcome your Suggestions and Comments. Email: